Google + Android Apps

Google Plus adds new apps for 300 million users like polling data tool, event promotions and videoconferencing hangouts – 

Google +

google social media

Google + social networking allows broader control over privacy data in general than Facebook. Although, Facebook is the dominant social media platform with over 1.6 Billion users worldwide adds iHumanMedia.com.

But the integration of Android with your Google + social network is seamless, offering a convenient sync app including Google Drive cloud applications like document writing, online forms, database and calendars. But profile data remains a key sticking point to users adopting mobile apps. 

  • 77% of smartphone owners agreed to download apps other than the ones already pre-installed ob their phone
  • 60% of these app downloaders had chosen not to install an app when they discovered how much personal information it required in order to use it, while 43% had uninstalled an app after downloading it for the same reason.
  • 90% of app downloaders said how their personal data will be used is “very” or “somewhat” important to them when they decide whether to download an app; by comparison, 57% said it is equally important to know how many times an app has been downloaded.

 

How to find Google Android permissions

There are several places users can find the permissions an app is requesting. The most visible place is when a user chooses to download an app on their device (the other is on the web at the Google Play Store site). On an Android smartphone (or tablet) when a user chooses to download an app, they tap the “install” icon and will see a screen that looks like this:

Typical Install Screen for Android Apps

Once apps are installed on the phone, users can typically check to see which permissions they have granted by going to the app in the Google Play Store. Permissions are always available for the user to see on each app’s Google Play page (on the web or from a mobile device). They are also updated as the app is updated.

At the moment of download, the permissions regime is “all or nothing.” In order to get an app installed on your device the first time you have to agree to all of the permissions (this regime has changed with the newest version of Android, discussed in detail below). It is also important to note that not all permissions discussed in detail in this report can be found on this screen. Android groups permissions into broader categories.

For example, the category “SMS” includes six separate permissions not all of which may be displayed on the screen above. Users can, however, see all of the permissions each app asks for in detail by going to the “settings” menu on their device and selecting “application manager” or “apps” depending on the device. The user can then select an app. Each app has a full list of the permissions it asks for here, which will contain the permissions as they are presented in this report (this is also possible through the web version of the Google Play Store).

Google Plus .pngIt is important to note that this was how permissions worked until Fall 2015 when Google announced the release of Android 6.0 or “Marshmallow.” While this operating system will not be available to most users for some time, it does overhaul the way permissions are displayed. The main change is that on devices running Android 6.0, users will be able to toggle individual permissions on and off on an app-by-app basis. In addition, permissions will be displayed not at the moment of download, but when an app requires the particular permission. For example, an app that requires the user’s location information would prompt the user to agree to the location permissions at the moment the app needs access, users would then be able to turn this permission off later.

This change puts the Android permission structure much closer to the way the same type of information is conveyed on Apple devices. While this is a major change in how permissions are displayed, the set of permissions themselves remains the same. The data studied here reflects the individual permissions users will still have to agree to, but they will be presented to the user using this new method.

service